You're not registered yet. Click here to register. Credits 
Karlheinz Stockhausen - a platform to discuss his works, to anounce forthcoming concerts and to review them.
You can register here for free.
This topic has 89 replies
and has been read 3.675 times
 Works
pages 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | ... 9
Ulrich Offline

Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:05 pm
DONNERSTAG aus LICHT reply

I am just beginning to study DONNERSTAG, again - to get an overview and then to go into the single scenes. Therefore again I am reading in the interviews on this opera. Now I have the strong impression that for Stockhausen not just the music, but also the spiritual content of the operas is extremely important - that you get a clear impression who Michael is, in which way he is active, how you can correspond to him with your life. And therefore I think it is essential to go to the Michael-traditions, biblical traditions, traditions of Christian culture, also the Book Urantia, to get an appropriate idea of what is going on. For Stockhausen wants to teach us with all the operas to live in harmony with time, with the special quality of every day. And I think that was originally also the idea for KLANG: to give us the impression what it is, that each hour transports as a spiritual content, message or task so that we can live more consciously. When we examine KLANG I get the suspicion that Stockhausen in his first sketches faces this task, but then did not take time enough just to elaborate this project, to meditate on the special character of the hours, to study the traditions dealing with this theme, and thus the single hours are quite different, but not in connection with the meaning of the special time of the day. FREUDE could easily be the 12th hour. Therefore this extra-musical dimension here is not so important, while in LICHT it is central - even the musical structure serving the message that the day wants to tell us.

Jerry Offline

Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:35 pm
#2 RE: DONNERSTAG aus LICHT reply